I’ve read countless articles that say if you don’t know what to do next in life, do nothing, and wait and see what comes next. I feel like I have been doing this for a while now, and could probably use that next step right about now.

I can say with much certainty that I’ve lived most of my life without this thing called direction. I honestly just went in the direction of the wind. My emotions guided my next steps, which often changed like – you guessed it – the wind. There are a few things I come back to, travel being one of them. Travel and office work. One is adventurous, the other safe and homely.

So what do I do? I research what people say about not knowing what to do, which gives me this false sense that I’m doing something. All in all, everything I do lately feels like a big distraction from getting down to the business of doing what I am here on this planet to do.

I look up my roots, maybe the answer is there.

I think about my early life and what my interests were when I was a kid. Maybe the answer is there.

I research interests, and what I could try next. Maybe the answer is in there.

Maybe I should accept that I don’t know what to do, and get down to the business of doing a bunch of things with no real direction. Maybe that’s my purpose: to taste a little bit of everything.

