Directed by Bill Condon 
Written by Stephen Chbosky & Evan Spiliotopoulos
Cast: Emma Watson, Dan Stevens, Luke Evans, Josh Gad, Ewan McGregor
Synopsis: We all know the lovely story. A young prince is imprisoned as a beast and can only be freed by true love. A human girl by the name of Belle, stumbles upon the castle and may be the Beast’s only hope of breaking the spell.

Opinion:

How was the set, really?

In my last post, I said I was looking forward to the set. It didn’t disappoint. The movie is a visually beautiful movie. The “Be our Guest” bit and the visuals in the last 10 minutes of the movie are the most beautiful, although there is a magical air throughout.

I read a few critics who said that Emma Watson was no Belle, but I think otherwise. She was definitely a stronger version of Belle, and really emphasized the independent and strong-willed side of Belle. Her singing was lovely and her reaction to the library reminded me of Hermione a little. (Can she ever really escape Hermione?)

Luke Evans played a great Gaston. I know this because I hated him right to the end.

They did not disappoint with the ballroom scene. It was a surreal moment for me to watch, so I can imagine it was ten times as surreal playing the part.

Josh Gad. That is all. (He was spectacular.) And Ewan McGregor melts into the part of Lumiere. I couldn’t picture him in the character at all.

All the characters are special throughout. Mrs. Potts has a special place in my heart. She is a heartwarming character.

I said it once before and I will say it again, the Soundtrack is awesome.

Some fun facts:

Belle’s ballroom gown required 3000 feet of thread and over 12,000 designer hours to complete. It was accentuated with 2,160 Swarovski crystals. The costume design throughout the film was impressive.

Actors sung Hakuna Matata to audition for this film.

The first teaser trailer was viewed 91.8 million times within the first 24 hours of release, which is now the most viewed trailer in history. It beat Star Wars: The Force Awakens by almost 4 million views.

Stars: 4 out of 5 – Go see it. You know you wanna.

