When travelling, there are often these little moments that stay with you for a really long time. You know them, everything seems a little bit brighter in the moment, and there is a right-ness in the world – a sense of perfection (if only for a moment). These moments remind me of the beauty in life, in adventure, and in exploring. Here are some of those moments for me:

I was in Paris, looking for the church of Saint-Sulpice ( I had recently read Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code and was intrigued) and got a bit lost. I stopped at one of the street vendors and bought myself a banana and nutella crepe and was wandering the street. A light rain began to fall so I stepped under an awning, and ate my crepe while watching the light parisien rain. It felt magical and lovely and perfect .

saint-sulpice-5thoughtsaday

I was driving in the Rocky mountains and stopped to take a picture on the side of the road. When I got back into my vehicle, there was a wolf coming onto the road from the other side. I opened my window to get a picture and he started to come closer. Needless to say, I snapped a few photos and rolled up the window. It was the first time (but not the last) I was that close to an animal I thought could eat me. It was exhilarating.

wolf-5thoughtsaday
Wolf – pic taken with the window up

When in Rome, a bunch of people I met on the tour and I were walking past the colosseum. We decided to rest close to the colosseum and sat down on one of the benches. One of us suggested to just take a moment and take in everything we had experienced up to that point. There was silence for a few moments, each of us thinking that we were there, we had made it – and were sitting in front of the colosseum having this wonderful experience.

colosseum-rome-5thoughtsaday

I lived in the Yukon for 6 months in 2005, working. I did alot of hiking at Miles Canyon. My favorite time was in the fall. I would read, and have a picnic and take time to think about life and what I was experiencing. This felt like one of the best times – enjoying the scenery, fresh air and solitude.

miles-canyon-5thoughtsaday
Miles Canyon
little-island-miles-canyon-5thoughtsaday
My Oasis – Miles Canyon

I have always had a deep love in my heart for England and London. It’s been there my entire life and it is a phenomenon that I can’t explain. So when I went there in 2005, I naturally felt at home. I promised myself in 1997, as I was watching Princess Diana’s funeral (I know, weird), that I would someday walk down Pall Mall. No matter where I travel in my life, it always comes back to London.

pall-mall-london-5thoughtsaday

